Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

All the Water in the World

All the Water in the World

‘TENDER, HEARTFELT AND HEART-BREAKING’ Francis Spufford
‘VERY MOVING, A WARM AND COMPASSIONATE NOVEL’ Diana Evans
‘DEEPLY REWARDING AND WHOLLY UNFORGETTABLE’ Bret Anthony Johnston
‘CAPTIVATING AND WARM AND REAL’ Janet Ellis
‘ASTONISHINGLY MOVING’ Joanna Hershon
‘A TENDER BRUISE OF A NOVEL’ Mary Paulson-Ellis

Maddy is sixteen. Deeply curious, wry and vivacious, she’s poised at the outset of adulthood. She has loyal friends, a mother with whom she’s unusually close, a father she’s never met, devoted grandparents, and a crush on a boy named Jack. Maddy also has cancer.

Hungry for experience despite living in the shadow of illness, Maddy seeks out her first romantic relationship, ponders philosophical questions, finds solace in music and art, and tracks down her father, Antonio. She continually tests the depths and limits of her closeness with her mother, while Eve has to come to terms with the daughter she loves and only partly knows, in a world she can’t control.

For fans of Celeste Ng and John Boyne, All the Water in the World is the story of a family doing its best when faced with the worst. Unforgettable and singularly moving, with voices that range from tender to funny, despairing to defiant, this novel is a poignant testimony to the transformative power of love, humour and hope.

‘RANEY IS AN AUTHOR TO WATCH’ Booklist
‘EXQUISITE’ Kirkus


Optioned for film by Monumental Pictures/Lionsgate.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 6th August 2019

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781473694934

Reviews

Heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal measure. Unafraid to probe the complexities of parenthood and partnership, Raney is an author to watch
Booklist
Very moving, a warm and compassionate novel with two arresting voices
Diana Evans, author of ORDINARY PEOPLE
An exquisite tracing of the tangled lines of mother-daughter love, loss, and grief
Kirkus
This tender bruise of a novel captures a mother and her teenage daughter in a heart-rending moment of change. Full of both joy and despair, its careful elegant prose dissects the tragedies of life and death with aplomb
Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of THE OTHER MRS WALKER