We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Memphis

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529339260

Price: £14.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

For fans of The Vanishing Half, a new American classic about love, resilience and family.

This story truly touched by soul.’ PRIMA, BOOK OF THE MONTH

‘If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our story, it’s this stunning debut’ WOMAN AND HOME


‘An incredible read’
BELLA

“A rhapsodic hymn to Black women.” The New York Times Book Review

Joan can’t change her family’s past.
But she can create her future.

Joan was only a child the last time she visited Memphis. She doesn’t remember the bustle of Beale Street on a summer’s night. She doesn’t know she’s as likely to hear a gunshot ring out as the sound of children playing. How the smell of honeysuckle is almost overwhelming as she climbs the porch steps to the house where her mother grew up. But when the front door opens, she does remember Derek.

This house full of history is home to the women of the North family. They are no strangers to adversity; resilience runs in their blood. Fifty years ago, Hazel’s husband was lynched by his all-white police squad, yet she made a life for herself and her daughters in the majestic house he built for them. August lives there still, running a salon where the neighbourhood women gather. And now this house is the only place Joan has left. It is in sketching portraits of the women in her life, her aunt and her mother, the women who come to have their hair done, the women who come to chat and gossip, that Joan begins laughing again, begins living.

Memphis is a celebration of the enduring strength of female bonds, of what we pass down, from mother to daughter. Epic in scope yet intimate in detail, it is a vivid portrait of three generations of a Southern black family, as well as an ode to the city they call home.

Reviews

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut
Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone
In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience
Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists
An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée Jeffers
Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets
This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer
Booklist
This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma
Oprah Daily Most Anticipated
This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude
Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine
A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm
Irenosen Okojie
I fell in love with this book by the end of the second paragraph. This story truly touched my soul. A talented new author who is definitely one to watch
Prima, Book of the Month
If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our story, it's this stunning debut . . . this beautifully told, and inspiring story is full of hope
Woman and Home
An accomplished debut
Good Housekeeping
An incredible read
Bella
A stunning debut
Woman's Weekly
Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, this debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood - ideal for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage
Cosmo
Black American literature at its finest . . . a symphony of stories
Irish Independent
"A rhapsodic hymn to Black women."
The New York Times Book Review