We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Lost Daughter

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781473640726

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 7th September 2017

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Historical Mysteries

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes – meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.

After Mistress of the Just Land, the second adventure in David Ashton’s Jean Brash series…

A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set Inspector James McLevy on the prowl, and Jean’s past returns in the shape of the avenging son of a man she has long ago been accused of poisoning.

Even more lethally, her own lost family life resurrects in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that gnaws at the very root of her identity.
All this grounded in Leith’s gritty backdrop – the rich exotic world of the theatre meeting the harsh reality of the streets.

Past, present and future – this unholy trinity collide to overwhelm the world of Jean Brash and involve her in a tale where the abandoned child inside her demands the right to grieve as well as feel some fractured, fleeting joy.
By the end, a chapter of Jean’s life may close and a new future might be signalled in other lands and other countries…

(P)2017 John Murray Press

‘Jean Brash is my favourite character and David Ashton’s writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she isSiobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4’s McLevy series)

Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE INSPECTOR McLEVY AND JEAN BRASH SERIES Ashton is an old hand at milking the Old Town, New Town and Leith for their maximum atmosphere, suspense and air of criminality. That, combined with the intriguing premise of a crime-solving brotel-keeper, makes Mistress of the Just Land a most diverting page turner
Herald
Mclevy is a sort of Victorian Morse with a heart, prowling the mean wynds and tenements of the endlessly fascinating city. David Ashton impeccably evokes Edinburgh so vividly that you feel the cold in your bones and the menace of the Old Town's steep cobbles and dark corners
Financial Times
An intriguing Victorian story... elegant and convincing
The Times
McLevy is one of the greatest psychological creations and Ashton the direct heir to Robert Louis Stevenson
Brian Cox, CBE - Award-winning actor
David Ashton's writing is excellent, his characters thoroughly convincing and his narrative grabs you
The Sherlock Holmes Society
Ashton's McLevy is a man obsessed with meting out justice and with demons of his own
Scotsman
Here is Jean Brash centre stage in all her splendour - clever, cheeky, generous, alluring, hard-headed, yet prone to the occasional burst of crazy romanticism, an old friend who is full of surprises. I find her as irresistible as McLevy does: she's my favourite character and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is.
Siobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4’s McLevy series)