We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: Revelation Road

Showing 1-6 of 6 results for Revelation Road

Revelation Road

Revelation Road

Contributors

Nick Page

Price and format

Price
£9.99
Format
Paperback
If you’re reading this, we’re still alive. The end of the world has not occurred. But it can’t be long now, can it?

For two thousand years, the Book of Revelation has inspired countless conspiracy theorists, film-makers, writers and artists, as well as theologians and teachers. But why are we so bothered? After all, the end of the world still hasn’t turned up, and it’s been quite a while now.

When Nick Page wanted to get to the bottom of what this mysterious book is really all about, he realised there was only one way to go about it: he had to go to the land of apocalypse. Travelling to Patmos via the ruined cities of the seven churches of Revelation, determined to seek out a revelation of his own, Nick explores the culture behind Revelation, who wrote it, why they wrote it, and what it means for us today.

Mixing history, commentary, creative reconstruction and sun-crazed travelogue, here at last is the (perhaps not quite) final word on heaven, hell, the four horsemen of the apocalypse – and why the end of the world never does turn up when it’s supposed to.
We Make the Road by Walking

We Make the Road by Walking

Contributors

Brian D. Mclaren

Price and format

Price
£12.99
Format
Paperback
Other Formats
Other formats available
‘If you’re new to the faith and seeking a good orientation, here you’ll find the introduction I wish I had been given.

If you’re a long-term Christian whose current form of Christianity has stopped working, here you’ll find a reorientation from a fresh and healthy perspective.

If your faith seems to be a lot of talk without much practice, I hope this book will help you translate your faith to action.

And if you’re a parent trying to figure out what you should teach your kids and grandkids, I hope this book will fit the need.’

We Make the Road by Walking is a year’s worth of reflections on the Bible, each one easily read aloud in ten to twelve minutes. Working with the framework of the church year, they provide a Genesis-to-Revelation overview of the Bible that can be used in a variety of ways: a year of church services, a year of weekly dinner-dialogue gatherings, a year of classes or online interactions, a series of retreats, or simply a rich reading experience.

Join Brian McLaren as he explores what it means to be alive in the way of Christ – reading, praying, meditating, discussing and acting our way through God’s word to us, the Bible.
Seeking Aliveness

Seeking Aliveness

Contributors

Brian D. Mclaren

Price and format

Price
£12.99
Format
Paperback
Other Formats
Other formats available
Praise for We Make the Road by Walking: ‘innovative and refreshing’ – Christianity magazine

In his 2014 book We Make the Road by Walking Brian McLaren gave a basic orientation on what it means to be ‘a new kind of Christian’ through 52 sermons, working within the framework of the church year and providing a Genesis-Revelation overview of the Bible. It was designed to be used in church services and small groups, and was praised by New Testament scholar Paula Gooder and enthusiastically adopted by many.

Seeking Aliveness is a repurposing of this material for use by individuals, breaking up the text into daily devotions, along with the original suggested Bible readings and with a prayer, thought or action point for each day. Brian’s original writing is transformed beautifully into a daily read, for admirers of the original book as well as a new audience.

‘An ideal resource’ – Church Times
Piccadilly

Piccadilly

Contributors

Midge Gillies

Price and format

Price
£10.99
Format
Paperback
Other Formats
Other formats available
There’s nowhere quite like Piccadilly Circus.

From the moment they emerge, blinking from the underground station, visitors to Piccadilly Circus face a sensory onslaught. Its streets and alleyways merge into an intoxicating thoroughfare, with the power to propel an individual onwards to adventure, romance, or something more sinister. Ever since its iconic Eros statue appeared in 1893, the junction has been a vibrant meeting place, attracting visitors and pleasure-seekers from all walks of life: political plans and theatrical careers were hatched at its restaurant and café tables, lovers met below the statue of Eros, and to this day tourists pour out of its historic Tube to experience the bright lights of London’s nightlife.

Piccadilly explores how the area has been shaped by social and historical events – from female suffrage to world wars to technological advancements – and by its colourful cast of characters – from flower girls, shop assistants and sex workers, to film stars, Bright Young Things and conmen (and women).

For many, the Circus has represented both a home from home and a brave new world, as campaigners, revellers, opportunists and romantics have all been drawn to Piccadilly’s bright lights.

This is the story of why Piccadilly Circus continues to mean so much to so many.
Rebel with a Clause

Rebel with a Clause

Contributors

Ellen Jovin

Price and format

Price
£16.99
Format
Hardcover
‘The history of language has never seen anything like this. Ellen’s mobile grammar travelogue, presented with an engaging humour and humility will appeal to anyone with an interest in the way English works – which means all of us. Reality television? This is reality grammar.’David Crystal, author of How Language Works

For fans of Gyles Brandreth, Susie Dent and Bill Bryson, an unconventional guide to the English language drawn from the cross-country adventures of an itinerant grammarian.

When Ellen Jovin first walked outside her Manhattan apartment and set up a folding table with a sign reading “The Grammar Table,” it took about 30 seconds to get her first visitor. Everyone had a question for her. The Grammar Table was such a hit – attracting the attention of The New York Times, NPR, and CBS Evening News – that Ellen soon hit the road, travelling across the U.S. to answer questions from students, retired editors, bickering couples, and anyone else who uses words in this world.

In Rebel with a Clause, Jovin shares the heartwarming and humorous stories of the people she meets, and what is most on their minds, grammatically speaking – from the Oxford comma to the places prepositions can go, the likely lifespan of ‘whom,’ semicolonphobia, and so much more.

Rebel with a Clause combines the qualities of a first-class work of reference with the laugh-out-loud pleasure of a good read. Punctuated with linguistic debates from tiny towns to crowded cities, this grammar romp will delight anyone wishing to polish their prose or revel in our age-old, universal fascination with language.
Travellers in the Golden Realm

Travellers in the Golden Realm

Contributors

Lubaaba Al-Azami

Price and format

Price
£25
Format
Hardcover
Other Formats
Other formats available
This is a remarkable book. It combines a spellbinding account of the first forgotten half of the English encounter with India with a fascinating history of the Mughal Empire’ JOSEPHINE QUINN, author of How the World Made the West

‘A compelling, highly readable account of the earliest phase of English presence in India’ NANDINI DAS, author of Courting India

When the first English travellers in India encountered an unimaginable superpower, their meetings would change the world.

Before the East India Company and before the British Empire, England was a pariah state. Seeking better fortunes, 16th and 17th century merchants, pilgrims and outcasts ventured to the kingdom of the mighty Mughals, attempting to sell coarse woollen broadcloth along the silk roads; playing courtiers in the Mughal palaces in pursuit of love; or simply touring the sub-continent in search of an elephant to ride.

Into this golden realm went Father Thomas Stephens, a Catholic fleeing his home; the merchant Ralph Fitch looking for jewels in the markets of Delhi; and John Mildenhall, an adventurer revelling in the highwire politics of the Mughal elite. It was a land ruled from the palatial towers by women – the formidable Empress Nur Jahan Begim, the enterprising Queen Mother Maryam al-Zamani, and the intrepid Princess Jahanara Begim. Their collision of worlds helped connect East and West, launching a tempestuous period of globalisation spanning from the Chinese opium trade to the slave trade in the Americas.

Drawing on rich, original sources, Lubaaba Al-Azami traces the origins of a relationship between two nations – one outsider and one superpower – whose cultures remain inextricably linked to this day.
Filter (0) +